HOME » Cultural Attractions »
Temples, Churches and Ex-monasteries
This temple is a reconstruction of the first hermitage destroyed by fire in 1862. It existed since 1554, built of adobe, had a thatched roof, and was called "The Tears of Saint Peter". Since the beginning, it was destined for the native Oaxacan community. When the temple was dedicated to the Virgen del Carmen, it began to be called "El Carmen de Abajo," to differentiate it from the temple of El Carmen Alto, which belonged to the congregation of the colonial nobility of Antequera.
The temple of El Carmen Bajo has a Latin cross-shaped architecture. Complementing the ensemble, two chapels, some rooms, and two small atriums. The nave is covered with a barrelled vault, on which they placed transoms. In the transept, an octagonal tambour bears a gallonada and elevated cupola. The temple preserves nineteenth century retables, and some paintings from the beginning of the twentieth-century.
The exterior is interesting because of its great size, and not for its elements, which are simple. The popular tower with a nineteenth century design is remarkable. It has a quadrangular base and a two-tiered octagonal bell tower.
The Carmen Bajo church is located 3 blocks north-west of the Central Plaza (Zócalo), on the corner formed by Porfirio Diaz Street and Morelos Avenue.