HOME » Cultural Attractions »
Manuel Fernández Fiallo (?-1708) - Filántropo (No Oaxaqueño)
The year was 1884, and on August 31, the Honourable City Hall decreed that six streets should be named after Manuel Fernandez Fiallo, the unforgettable philanthropist.
This gentle benefactor of Oaxaca was born in Villa de Serpa, in Portugal. Raised in opulence and retiring from the Spanish Army with the rank of Captain, he arrived in Oaxaca on May 14, 1665, bringing a great part of his fortune and beginning immediately so many of his pious works.
Among those he could not conceal are: The Convento del Carmen, San Francisco, San Agustin, La Merced, San Juan de Dios, Hospital de Belen, Colegio de Niñas, La Plaza del Mercado, Las Fuentes Publicas, La Casa del H. Ayuntamiento, Expansion of the Jail, La Carniceria Real, and La Alhondiga, built as a grain storage for the community.
Don Manuel Fernandez Fiallo died in 1708; the Land of Juárez keeps alive his sacred memory